Meet the Riders and their Rides – Peter Disera

Norco’s Peter Disera wasn’t even supposed to have been in the race when he won Canada’s Elite Men’s National Championship last year in the pro cross-country division. Peter was only 22 at the time and should have been racing in the U23 division, but he decided to move up and join the elite ranks a year ahead of time so he could compete against the top XC pros in Canada. With his win of that Elite Men’s National title for Canada, Peter elevated himself to the top ranks of the sport.

THE MBA Q&A:

MBA: Where did you grow up?

Peter: I grew up in Bradford, Ontario, where I would play on the local ‘dirt jump’ on my Canadian Tire bike. I think my bike was worth $150 back then. When my family moved to Horseshoe Valley, Ontario [Canada], that is when cycling really took off. With Hardwood Ski & Bike so close, it was easy to get hooked.

MBA: What kind of work do (or did) your father and mother do?

Peter: My mother has always been involved in the ski industry and is currently the Ski School Director at Snow Valley (where we learned to ski). My father is a front-of-house audio engineer. Essentially, when you go to a KISS concert, he makes sure it sounds good for you. He never got caught up in the fame, but he’s worked with some cool people.

MBA: When did you first start riding a bicycle?

Peter: As a kid I always rode, but it wasn’t until 2007 at a local weekly race that things really kicked off.

MBA: When did you first start competing in events on a bike, and what kind of bike was it?

Peter: Hardwood Ski & Bike Wednesday Night Weekly Race in 2007, and I rode an Infinity. I desperately wanted a bike with disc brakes by the end of that year.

MBA: How did you finish?

Peter: I don’t recall, but I finished second in the weekly series that year in my age group.

MBA: What have been your best competition results on non-mountain bikes?

Peter: I dabbled in road and cyclocross after I started mountain biking. I managed a few national champion results. For example, I was junior cyclocross, individual time-trial and crit national champ, as well as XCO.

MBA: When did you start competing on mountain bikes?

Peter: 2007

MBA: How did you do in your first event?

Peter: I don’t recall my very first race, but my first provincials I was fourth.

MBA: What have been your best national and international results?

Peter: I have been national champion a few times in a few disciplines, but most recently in Elite XCO as a U23 racing up an age class. Internationally, as a junior, I won the Mont-Sainte-Anne World Cup and placed second at World Championships that year in South Africa (2013). More recently, I managed to snag a spot on the podium at the World Cup in Albstadt, Germany last year.

MBA: What titles have you won (or come close to winning)? What years did you win them?

Peter: 2011–2012 podium at nationals; 2013 ITT, CX, crit, XCO national champion (Junior); second at Worlds; MSA win; 2014–2015 was on the podium at nationals XCO & ITT; 2016 national champion CX & XCO; 2017 national champion elite XCO (I was a U23 racing up).

MBA: Have you gone to college?

Peter: Yes. University of Guelph for Water Resources Engineering. Scheduled to graduate by Christmas 2018.

MBA: Do you have any other kind of career training?

Peter: I was a ski instructor throughout high school, so I worked towards my certification. By the end of that career, I was one of the most requested instructors. Five-year-old kids were my primary clientele.

MBA: Did you earn any awards, in sports or academics, while in school?

Peter: I have been on the dean’s list a few times throughout my academic career. In 2014 I was inducted into the Barrie Sports Hall of Fame for my performance at Worlds in 2013.

MBA: What other sports do you like to do now?

Peter: Besides playing intramural soccer while at school, all the other sports I partake in are usually a form of cross-training, and I don’t compete in them. Let’s just say that I am a terrible cross-country skier, an activity that makes for good training but would be horrible for racing.

MBA: If possible, please tell us something interesting or unusual about yourself or your family that is not widely known.

Peter: Cycling wasn’t a family affair. For those who do not know my younger brother Quinton, he’s an accomplished professional mountain biker as well, but, contrary to popular belief, our parents were not cyclists until we became involved with the sport. They very quickly took up the support role as our careers began, and we owe a lot of our success to them. Mom now enjoys getting out on her mountain bike as much as possible, but Dad sticks to his motorcycle.

RIDER PROFILE

Name: Peter Disera

Nickname: Petey D

Age: 23

Birthdate: February 21, 1995

Birthplace: Kitchener, Ontario

Height: 176cm (5-foot-9)

Weight: 71 kilograms (157 pounds)

Shoe size: Euro 43

Helmet size: Medium

Waist: 31 inches

Marital status: Not married

Current home: Horseshoe Valley, Ontario

Cars: Subaru Impreza Hatchback

Started racing: 2007

Turned pro: 2014

Racing specialty: XC, STXC, CX, and I dabble in road (used to race with H&R Block Pro Cycling)

Favorite course (North America): Mont-Sainte-Anne WC

Favorite course (Europe): Nove Mesto Na Morave, CZE (the atmosphere is unreal)

Favorite food: Cookies and other baked goods

Goals: National Championships, Olympics

Heroes: The pros who took the time when I was a junior to teach me how to not be a junior. They put me on the track to success.

Favorite recording artist: Blink-182

Favorite movie: Top Gun

Favorite hobbies: Baking (and eating it), music, playing with our cat, being outside

Jobs held (other than racer): Alpine ski instructor, bike shop

Most embarrassing moment: Messing up podium presentations—more than once

Always takes on a trip: Headphones

What you would be if you were not a racer: Rally car driver. Someone would need to sponsor me though.

Peter Disera’s Norco Revolver FS 29er

Bike weight: 22 pounds/10 kilograms

Estimated value of bike: Priceless

1. Frame: Norco, Revolver FS 29er, carbon fiber, size medium, 100mm front and rear.

Shock: Monarch XX: 148 psi, rebound two clicks from slowest.

“I love this bike because it’s so durable, nimble and fast. Whether I am blowing my legs off on a rough, nasty climb or sending it down a gnarly rock garden, I know my Revolver will get me through it.”

2. Fork: RockShox, SID, 100mm, one token, 100 psi; rebound four clicks from the slowest position; Charger five clicks from zero.

“Love this fork for the weight and performance it provides. The charger provides great handling while under heavy braking.”

3. Tires: (Front) Kenda, Kozmik Lite II, RC3, Tubeless Race, 2.2, 21 psi. (Rear) Kenda, Saber Pro, RC3, Tubeless Race, 2.2, 22 psi.

“I will often run this setup with the Kozmik in the front and Saber in the rear, as it is the perfect mix of light weight, good traction and fast rolling.”

4. Inner tubes or tubeless system: Tubeless. Kenda, Tubeless Race (TR) or, when required, Kenda SCT protection.

“Gotta be tubeless.”

5. Rims: DT Swiss, XRC 1200, 25mm internal width, Carbon.

“Might I just say these wheels are bomb-proof.”

6. Spokes: DT Swiss, Aerolite straight-pull.

7. Front hub: DT Swiss 240.

8. Rear hub: DT Swiss 240.

9. Brakes: SRAM, Level, 160mm centerline SRAM rotors.

“The smooth modulation of Level brakes makes them incredible to ride. Additionally, they’ll stop you really quick—good for times when panicking is appropriate.”

10. Handlebars: Truvativ, Descendant, carbon, 740mm, 10mm rise, 5-degree sweep.

“The Descendant riser bar is stiff and sturdy. For how I ride, I wouldn’t want to be on any other carbon bar. “

11. Bottom bracket: SRAM BB.

12. Grips: WTB, Commander PadLoc, 30mm.

13. Cranks: SRAM, XX1 Eagle, 175mm.

14. Chainring: SRAM, XX1 Eagle, 3-degree offset, 34-tooth (will often run a 36t).

“SRAM Eagle has really opened us up to running bigger chainrings. This enables racers to have that extra gear in a sprint or an open downhill section without sacrificing cadence on steep climbs.”

15. Pedals: HT, M1T, Ti.

“I love the durability and the feel of the M1T pedals. They are easy to clip in and clear mud well.”

16. Chain: SRAM 12-speed Eagle.

[How often do you change it?] “Depending on the number of key races, usually four to five times a year. The team mechanics will usually refresh the whole bike three times a year.”

17. Rear derailleur: SRAM, XX1 Eagle.

“Crisp. SRAM Eagle executes shifts with flawless performance in all my races.”

18. Front derailleur.

“Nah, but note that I also do not run a chainguide.”

19. Shifters: SRAM, XX1 Eagle.

20. Brake levers: SRAM, Level.

21. Rear cassette: SRAM Eagle, 12-speed, 10-50t.

22. Saddle: WTB, Volt.

23. Seatpost: Truvativ, Noir T40.

“Seatposts are something you should never have to worry about, and with Truvativ, I don’t.”

24. Cables and housings.

“SRAM, with added love.”

25. Headset: Cane Creek 110.

26. Water bottle cage: Axiom Ripple Inox, alloy, 32g.

27. Stem: Truvativ Stylo T-40.

28. Special touches.

“No special touches; we just keep it real.”

29. Extras (for example, cycling computer, chain-retention device, etc.): Cycling computer mount.

“Eagle needs no help.”

30. Head angle: 70.5 degrees.

31. Bottom bracket height: 330mm.


THERE ARE SO MANY WAYS TO GET MOUNTAIN BIKE ACTION

Mountain Bike Action is a monthly magazine devoted to all things mountain biking (yes, that’s 12 times a year because we never take a month off of mountain biking). It has been around since 1986 and we’re still having fun. Start a subscription by clicking here or calling (800) 767-0345.

Available from the Apple Newsstand for reading on your iPad, iPhone or iPod Touch.

Subscribe Here

Contact us via email at [email protected]

You might also like

Comments are closed.

X
¤