Sea Otter XC race kicks off the $250,000 Life Time Grand Prix Series.—scroll to the end to find the link to watch it

Press Release:

The “en Fuego”(“on fire”) cross-country race at the Sea Otter Classic will kick off the six-race Life Time Grand Prix series, which will pay out $250,000 in prize money to the top competitors, which will be split up among the top riders in the men’s and women’s classes.

Scroll down to see the list of all six races and the 30 men and 30 women who have been accepted into the Life Time Grand Prix Series. Notably absent are Kate Courtney, Haley Batten, Riley Amos, and Christopher Blevins, who are expected to be racing this weekend in the World Cup XC race in Petropolis, Brazil.

The Sea Otter Fuego tests mountain bike racers on a premier course over Fort Ord National Monument’s rolling hills and gravel trails. Racers have their choice of three distances – Jr. Short 6k, 40k and 80k.

Fuego XC Short Course (Junior Racers Only)

“This spectator-friendly course for all of our young athletes (ages 10-14),” say the promoters, “starts at the Sea Otter Bridge on the Laguna Seca Raceway track. As your juniors get their first taste of the steep climbs and rock gardens along the Fuego’s four-mile short circuit, make sure you grab a front-row seat for the sizzling action. Parents, join your athletes at Casa Amigos for lunch by purchasing an additional lunch at the door.”

Fuego XC 40k

“The boiling point is set at 40 kilometers for this course,” the promoters tell us, “loaded with sandy climbs, flowing singletrack, and gravel grinding within Fort Ord’s diverse habitat and beautiful landscape. This wave start race starts at Sea Otter Bridge and ends at the Tire Bridge, refining rookie riders into seasoned vets along the way.”

Fuego XC 80k

The promoters describe the 80k, the premier race of the day, which is part of the Life Time Grand Prix Series, in this way: “Turn the burners on high for the new Fuego XC 80, a marathon event featuring two epic laps, 5,700 feet of climbing, and the toughest of all the Fuego courses. Step into Sea Otter history for this uniquely demanding but equally thrilling challenge, and earn the title of El Campeon de Fuego.”

The Fuego XC 80k race is the first of six races in the Life Time Grand Prix Series. Here’s the full list of those six races:

Sea Otter Classic
Fuego XC 80k
Monterey, CA
April 9, 2022

200 Mile Gravel
Emporia, KS
June 4, 2022

Crusher in the Tushar
70 Mile Gravel
Beaver, UT
July 9, 2022

Leadville Trail 100 MTB
100 Mile MTB
Leadville, CO
August 13, 2022

Chequamegon MTB Festival
40 Mile MTB
Cable, WI
September 17, 2022

Big Sugar Gravel
100 Mile Gravel
Bentonville, AR
October 22, 2022

Below are the names of the 60 racers who are scheduled to be in the Life Time Grand Prix Series, battling for $250,000 in prize money, which will be split evenly between the men’s and women’s classes.

Adam Roberge
Alex Wild
Alexander Dominic Howes
Alexey Vermeulen
Andrew L’Esperance
Ashton Lambie
Bradyn Lange
Cole Paton
Colin Strickland
Cory Wallace
Dylan Johnson
Eddie Anderson
Howard Grotts
Jeremiah Tyrone Bishop
John Borstelmann
John Keller
Joshua Berry
Keegan Swenson
Kiel Reijnen
Lachlan Morton
Lance Haidet
Laurens ten Dam
Logan Owen
Payson McElveen
Peter Stetina
Rob Britton
Russell Finsterwald
Steven Davoust
Taylor Lideen
Ted King

Alexis Skarda
Amanda Nauman
Amber Neben
Amity Rockwell
Angela Naeth
Crystal Anthony
Ellen Campbell
Emily Joy Newsom
Erin Huck
Evelyn Dong
Haley Hunter Smith
Hannah Otto (formerly Hannah Finchamp)
Hannah Shell
Helena Gilbert-Snyder
Isabel King
Kathy Pruitt
Kaysee Armstrong
Kristen Legan
Lea Davison
Lex Albrecht
Maude Farrell
Melisa Rollins
Moriah Wilson
Paige Peters
Rach McBride
Rebecca Fahringer
Rose Grant
Ruth Winder
Sarah Sturm
Sofia Gomez Villafane

Here’s a video about the event: https://www.flobikes.com/collections/7619043-2022-life-time-grand-prix/video?playing=7624401

Here’s the link for more information:


Here’s the link where you can sign up to watch the race live, Saturday morning, at 7:40 AM Pacific Daylight Time


cross country racingLife Time Grand Prixmountain bike racing 2022sea otterSea Ottter Classic