U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame Announces 2020 Inductees

U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame Announces
2020 Inductees

Teammates in 1999, business partners from 2003 to 2011: new U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame Inductee Leigh Donovan and Jennifer Gabrielli (a former pro downhill racer and the wife of Jeff Steber, the founder/CEO of Intense Cycles).

by Bob Bowen

Four legends of American cycling have been voted into the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame. The Class of 2020 inductees are: Jeff Pierce (Modern Road & Track Competitor), Marianne Martin (Veteran Road & Track Competitor), Leigh Donovan (Off-Road Competitor), and Joe Breeze (Contributor to the Sport). There are now 161 Inductees in the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame.

“The U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame is proud to honor these individuals,” said Bob Bowen, board president. “These individuals were selected by the voters because of their supreme accomplishments in cycling. Their induction into the Hall of Fame will serve as a perpetual reminder of their dedication and sacrifice to the sport.”

Normally held each November, the 34th annual USBHOF induction ceremony has been postponed until coronavirus restrictions have been lifted for large gatherings.

The Class of 2020 Inductees include:

Jeff Pierce – Modern Road and Track: Jeff Pierce is the only American besides Greg LeMond to have won the final stage of the Tour de France. Pierce began racing in 1975 with the Wolverine Sports Club in Detroit, Michigan under the tutelage of coach Mike Walden. He raced for three teams in his career: Schwinn (Schwinn Wolverine, Schwinn National Team, Schwinn Icy Hot), Team 7-Eleven, and Chevrolet LA Sheriffs. He raced in seven Grand Tours, all with the legendary Team 7-Eleven, which itself received a Special Recognition induction to the Hall of Fame in 1997. His win on the Champs-Élysées in the final stage in the 1987 Tour de France was a monumental achievement for American cycling.

Pierce won multi-stage bicycle races, such as the 1985 Berliner Etappenfahrt, the 1986 Vuelta de Bisbee, and the 1987 United Texas Tour. He finished second overall in the 1987 Coors Classic and the 1994 Redlands Bicycle Classic. He also won the 1985 Nevada City Classic and the 1986 La Jolla Grand Prix. In addition to the final stage of the 1987 Tour de France, he won stages in the 1985 & 1988 Coors Classic, the 1989 Vuelta al Pais Vasco, and the 1994 Redlands Bicycle Classic. Pierce teamed with Steve Hegg to win the 1995 U.S. National Championship in the Madison race category.

You might also like