Pauline Ferrand-Prevot takes on America's Haley Batten and Sofia Gomez Villafane

Nino Schurter (left) and Lars Forster of team SCOTT-SRAM hike up a steep hill during stage 2 of the 2022 Absa Cape Epic. Photo by Simon Pocock/Absa Cape Epic


Stage 2 of the 2022 Absa Cape Epic marked the longest stage of this year’s race. The route took the teams from Lourensford Wine Estate into the heart of the hinterland in Greyton. It was a challenging day with a lot of wind and sun for the riders.

In the women’s race, Robyn de Groot (RSA) and Pauline Ferrand-Prévot (FRA) of BMC MTB Racing took the stage win. They showed incredible riding over 6 hours and 20 minutes after their struggles yesterday.

The women riders head towards the mountains during stage 2 of the 2022 Absa Cape Epic. Photo: Sam Clark/Absa Cape Epic

The men’s race was decided in a nail-biting sprint finish. Nino Schurter (SUI) and Lars Forster (SUI) of SCOTT-SRAM were heading towards the finish line in the lead, but Christopher Blevins (USA) overtook them. His partner Matt Beers (RSA) could not go with him, so SCOTT-SRAM took the stage win.

Christopher Blevins looks back as he crosses the finish line ahead of Lars Forster (left) and Nino Schurter at the end of Stage 2 in the Absa Cape Epic on March 22, 2022. The SCOTT-SRAM team of Forster and Schurter took the stage win, since Blevins’s teammate, Matt Beers, finished behind Nino and Forster. Photo by Nick Muzik/Cape Epic

Buff Megamo’s Hans Becking and José Dias finished in third place, close behind.

Overall leaders Canyon Northwave MTB’s Andreas Seewald (GER) and Martin Stosek (CZE) finished 10 seconds behind the leaders in the fourth position. They were able to defend their yellow leader jersey ahead of tomorrow’s Stage 3.

Stage 2 – MEN Stage 2 – WOMEN
1. SCOTT-SRAM #2-1 Nino SCHURTER (SUI) & #2-  2 Lars FORSTER (SUI) 05:17:04.8 1. BMC MTB Racing #51-1 Pauline FERRAND PRÉVOT (FRA) &

#51-2 Robyn DE GROOT (RSA) 06:20:52.2

2. Toyota-NinetyOne-Specialized #1-1 Matthew BEERS (RSA) & #1-2 Christopher BLEVINS (USA) +00:00:00.5 2. NinetyOne-Songo-Specialized #54-1 Haley BATTEN (USA) &

#54-2 Sofia GOMEZ VILLAFANE (ARG) +00:02:47.7

3. BUFF-MEGAMO #5-1 Hans BECKING (NED) & #5-2 José DIAS (POR) +00:00:01.9 3. Symbtech ZA #50-1 Ariane LÜTHI (SUI) &

#50-2 Amy WAKEFIELD (RSA) +00:07:50.

Sofia Gomez Villafane and Haley Batten during stage 2 of the 2022 Absa Cape Epic on the 22nd March 2022. Photo Sam Clark/Cape Epic
You might also like